On flying.

I hate flying.

That must sound like a weird thing for me to say, seeing how I love to travel abroad, and until teleportation becomes a thing, this is the only way I’ll get to go anywhere. There’s a lot of things I don’t like about flying. I hate the claustrophobic planes. I hate the food. I hate the bathrooms. I hate the cabin air. I hate the tiny seats. I hate the lack of decent wi-fi. I hate the $6 Budweisers. I hate waiting in line to use the bathroom. I hate the guy in front of me who tries to recline his seat while I’m eating, the guy in the middle seat who tries to commandeer both armrests, and the guy a couple rows back who’s trying like hell to talk to the pretty girl next to him. (Also, there appears to be some sort of FAA rule that says that pretty girl will never be seated next to me.) I always have a hard time sleeping on planes and the time always seems to crawl when I’m on a plane. Fact is, there’s very little I like about flying, other than the anticipation of being somewhere else as soon as I get off the plane.

Strangely enough, as much as I hate flying, I enjoy airports. Other than the annoying process of getting through a security line, I find the airport experience quite enjoyable. Especially now that airports have upped their game as far as restaurants and places to drink go. I’m now at the point where I’ve picked certain flights over others — just because of the length and location of the layover.

In eight days, we leave for Vienna, and I couldn’t be more excited about that. Though if I’m honest, I’m also really excited for the 2 hour layover in Munich. There’s supposedly a really awesome beer hall in the airport, and I intend to quaff a few beers before heading to Austria. Prost!

Leave a comment